Waikanae Trio Nominated for Awards

Three Waikanae Senior players are finalists for awards at the Capital Football awards ceremony to be held at the Petone Working Mens Club on 26 September.

Taylor Newman has been rewarded for an outstanding season by becoming a finalist in the “Capital 1 to Capital 11 Player of the Year”.  He joins two other finalists from Miramar Rangers and Seatoun.  The achievement is fitting recognition for a great year of football played by Waikanae’s First team who missed promotion to Cap 1 by the barest of margins.

Brett Morgan and Ryan Leyten are fittingly rewarded for a stellar season by the WAFC “Jets” who achieved the Division 2 and HK Bowl double in a season where they won 16 of their 20 competition games.  Ryan was team golden boot with 27 goals which included a five week absence for overseas travel during the season.  Brett Morgan captained the team playing every minute of every match throughout the season, scoring 12 goals himself.

The Club is proud to have these three represent us at the awards as acknowledgement for the hard work and support provided by their coaches, managers and team mates.  All the best lads!

If you wish to attend to support the lads, tickets to the event are $60 per person and can be ordered via the Senior Convenor.