Waikanae Football’s 2021 Award Winners

Due to the restrictions placed on social gatherings by the Covid outbreak the club was unfortunately unable to hold a single prizegiving function in 2021.  Instead teams held their own end of year functions where both team and Club awards were presented.  While most of these have been covered on social media it is worth recounting and recognising again our prize-winners of 2021.  The supreme award of the President’s Cup was awarded to Manson Jenkins for his many hours of dedicated service to the club in the dual roles of Secretary and Treasurer.

Gemma Neve took out the ‘Golden Boot’ award with an amazing 23 goals in 14 games, also earning herself a well-deserved nomination in the Capital Football awards ‘Womens Capital 1-3 Player of the Year’.

Jon Amber and Cody Thorpe were also recognised for their 10 years of service to the Club.

Other major prize winners were Chris Hawley Stone who took out the First Team ‘Player of the Year’ while ‘Emerging Player of the Year’ went to Ben Thomas.  Nick Brice was voted ‘Player’s Player’ by his peers.  Rory McGrath picked up the award for most MVP points.

This year an inaugural ‘Ladies Emerging Player’ was awarded to Charley Broughton.

Congratulations to all the award and prize winners.  The Club is proud of your contribution in 2021.

The remaining ‘Player of the Year’ and ‘Players Player of the Year’ awards went to:


Emily Morgan – Player of the Year

Lisanne Templer – Players Player


Bryan Medcalf – Player of the Year

Les Reid – Players Player


Michael Edridge – Player of the Year

Jade Henley-Macleod – Players Player


James Mallia – Player of the Year

Jeff Plumley – Players Player


Eisa Mozhdehjouybari – Player of the Year

Hamish McMillan – Players Player


Cole McIntosh – Player of the Year

Manson Jenkins – Players Player